BikerBear's Blips

By BikerBear

Magnolia Plantation, Charleston, SC

BACKBLIP 8/13 - MAY 2011

After a lot of research in the UK we had planned a visit to this plantation when we arrived - it did NOT disappoint!
Got here early to take advantage of the tours that they lay on throughout the day ...... each one different and each one very informative about the workings of the plantation from when it was first built.

If you are interested in history and hearing, and seeing, about the slave trade and how plantations were run this place is a must! It is beautiful.


The photos ...... I just could not decide which ones to publish so have squashed them into a collage (with much loss of quality) ..... the bridge leads from one part of the plantation to another, the bird in the water is a Snakebird (Anhinga), the heron in the centre is some kind of almost-black heron that I have never seen before, the birds in the trees are squabbling Anhingas and there were nests with young in all around them and the fifth picture is the best photo I have ever taken of a dragonfly - no macro lens and handheld ....


There is a story behind the Anhinga ......... on 2 Jan 2013 Sefferdog published a photo of an Anhinga - I had never ever heard of, or seen, one of these before (I thought!!!) and was really taken with it (even including a question about them in my pub quiz on Sunday 6th) ....... on checking through my photos to publish these backblips I was shocked to find that I have a number of photos of Anhingas ...... to say I was thrilled was an understatement!!
At the time of taking them I assumed it was some kind of cormorant ..... thanks Seff!!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.