Stable - not me

I'm thinking of having this image printed on a tee-shirt with the slogan: "I came for the sunrise and all I got was this lousy old shed." There was a glow building this morning about 7. 30 am and when I started loading up the car for a blip outing - mission sunrise - the sky was a deep rosy pink. I went inside for a slurp of tea, came back out, and it was raining. By the time I'd reached the chosen spot the day was tucked under its favourite grey blanket.

Anyway, I got lucky. It was a filming day for Kevin McCloud and his Grand Designs team and they hadn't got here yet. So I sneaked this preview from the latest series that has been subject to budget cuts at Channel Four.

Nearby was the rotting carcass of a long deceased Morris 1000 van. Nothing is farmed here now. It's "hope land" on the urban fringe, just waiting for a relaxation of planning regs. "There's a certain aesthetic about using bleached larch in a rural setting and Dorothy and Ted here are making the most of it," says Kevin.

Packing now for a shoot in Devon with the reprobates, but I've had to put on my ear defenders early since my neighbour is out with the pressure washer for the third day running. My eye is starting to twitch. "One day Francois I'll be rid of him."

Thank you to all who commented on the pickled onions yesterday. I love this place. Agonised Debated on colour or b/w. Colour won by a rusty nail.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.