Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Angels from the realms..

I popped into a 12th century church here in York today, All Saints in North Street. It's a remarkable building and although I'll be staying very close by tomorrow night, I don't think I'll be worshipping there on Sunday morning. It's from a somewhat higher tradition than I am used to, but I did want to take a look at it.
The church is a recognised notable medieval Marian shrine and there are records of the church dating back pre-Norman Conquest. The stained glass windows are 12th century and these painted angels in the roof are 15th century. There is also a Roman Column in the building.
My meetings today went well, I was stand-in minute taker which I think is my least favourite occupation, but hey, nice to be trusted!
The weather forecast lied too. It said it would be dry from 10am, it wasn't and I ended up walking 1.5 miles to my meeting in the pouring rain . I was not impressed, it wasn't just the rain but the size of the puddles I kept having to try to jump over. Still nothing compared to what other parts of Yorkshire are having to deal with. Here's another meeting tomorrow and so I've more minute taking to look forward to. Then I get to try to make sense of them as I type them up at home next week.
My sister is coming through tomorrow evening from Leeds so we'll be out painting the town tartan, or at least until my bedtime at 9pm.lol!

13815 steps

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.