Burnt Cabin on a Winter's Day

"I do an awful lot of thinking and dreaming about things in the past and the future - the timelessness of the rocks and the hills - all the people who have existed there. I prefer winter and fall, when you feel the bone structure of the landscape - the loneliness of it, the dead feeling of winter. Something waits beneath it, the whole story doesn't show." - Andrew Wyeth

I've been trying to get out and take pictures of our snow this week before the weekend's rains and warmer weather cause it all to melt.

And so I stopped on my way to work on Friday to take a few pictures before the freezing rain began. (Am I always here just before the pending rains?) The light was pretty limited. No golden sunrises, or even peach ones, on this day.

There is a small drive way by the cabin, but of course there's nobody there to shovel or plow the snow out. So the drifts were tall, and I parked my car on the road. A typical Pennsylvania back road - there was little traffic to disturb me. Across the road, some rather muddy cows enjoyed their breakfast.

You may recognize this cabin from an earlier blip. I'd found the scene lonely looking before, but in the snow it seemed somehow even more so.

But I savored for just a few minutes its desolate beauties. The bone structure of the rustling trees. The quiet of the snow. A sense of hushed waiting . . . for those who will never come.


P.S. One of my blip friends suggested a song to go with this photo, and I think it's a perfect choice, so I'm including it here. Thank you, HilarysView. :-) And now, here's a link where you can listen to Annie Lennox performing the classic winter song, In the Bleak Midwinter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.