Lord Lieutenant

Patrick Stewart is the Lord Lieutenant of Argyll & Bute and he will be retiring shortly after 8 years in the role. 

The Lord Lieutenant is the Monarch's representative in each county and although they used to be involved in actions such as summoning the militia, it is now largely honorary and ceremonial.

I often see Patrick and his deputies on formal occasions such as Remembrance  Sunday  and today I was in Campbeltown for that though it  required a very early start and a drive of over a hundred  miles.   

Patrick is from Campbeltown, was a solicitor in the town, was very active in his support of the local fishing industry and is always good company.  He also still lives  in Campbeltown, over looking the loch  so I couldn't resist this quick picture of him  just after the Remembrance Day gathering by the wonderfully sited war memorial. 

Given the chill in the air (though the drive down was beautiful, the temperature didn't rise above zero throughout it) I was also very grateful for the coffee offered by him and his wife before the event and glad to accompany him afterwards to the Remembrance service  the Lorne and Lowland Church of Scotland , taken by my friend Willie Crossan, who is the interim moderator. 

I then held a surgery before wending my way back to Cowal - a full day for a Sunday ! 

My extra pictures give a bit more of the flavour of it.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.