RSPB Dungeness

A trip to the coast today https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2640654296198155025
I had a notion to visit RSPB Dungeness and see what birdlife was there. There have been some interesting sightings this month but the woman I was chatting to said that a good number of the winter visitors haven't arrived yet because it hasn't turned cold enough for them to migrate south. That sounds plausible and worrying. I've never seen so many cormorants in my life - oodles of them on the specially constructed shingle islands which you can see here. Dungeness is quite an arresting place - dominated by the nuclear power station and on the flat land of the Romney Marsh. Anyway the RSPB staff were very friendly and helpful and the visitor centre was fully accessible as was the path to a few of the hides. I managed a bit of a walk but my step count is deplorable so far this week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.