Edges and endings

A pile of 15 of James's wire bound workbooks has been sitting on the table for 2 weeks waiting for me to remove the wire binding so that the rest can be recycled.  They are all full of mathematical equations that are a mystery to me.  I thought I'd feel better about chucking them if I took a photo, then to make the photo more interesting I took it into Photoshop and applied a 'stylize filter' called 'find edges'.  Et voila, not much else to be said.

Today Ben received a letter from the Chinese University of Hong Kong announcing the shortening of Term 1 with all classes called off with immediate effect.  They say this is due to the 'escalation of social movements across the territory, the continuous disruption to public transport as well as the severe damage done to facilities on campus'.  

Martin and I have been following developments closely on this website (Chinese press) which provides a time line and which at one point described the CUHK campus as a bomb making factory with a video of students practising lobbing petrol bombs on the sports field.

Still waiting to hear what Ben's' plans are, but he'd prefer to take the opportunity to travel rather than come home (as long as he can get back into Hong Kong to use his flight back to UK on December 20th).  What an unpredictable year abroad he's having!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.