The north side

The north side of my place has challenged me. The outdoor area is great for sun but in spring and sunmer the prevailing nor'easterly wind wraps around from the front and makes in uninviting.

I've tended to use the outdoor area at the back because it's mostly sheltered. I'm starting to get what the north side will eventually feel and look like. It's very different to a year ago.

The unattractive wind cloth is to help the feijoas grow. Their height and width will create a wind break at this corner of the house. Other plantings at the front fence will help too.

As the fruit trees grow along with the various aromatic plants, and perennials, this area will become an intimate setting to relax in. I'm beginning to get my head around what it will become.

My priority at present is to continue improving the soil. In time I'll add pots and other ground covers here that contine to soften and create connections.

The bees love it. I was watering late this afternoon I was dismayed to discover wasps are nesting under a corner of the concrete pad I was sitting on when I took this photo. I've pushed soil, water, and dish washing liquid into the gap. Hopefully that's the end of it.

The big pot against the fence still needs a plant. I'm waiting for the right one to come along. The 2 tallest trees are vanilla trees. They're very happy. To the left of the pot is a wine berry that also appreciates heavy predominantly wet soil.

Today's gratitude: For a warm sunny day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.