The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

Mystical Majesty

The fog in the Twin Cities was "as thick as thieves" the entire day. According to the skies, the sun never rose and it never set, it just simply changed the color and opacity of the densely saturated air. In fact, I could not see out the windows of my office at all today and there never was a horizon. The windows looked completely opaque the entire day. We are 400 feet above ground and the fog started 200 feet below us.

But, when I am not travelling, I do not mind foggy days. The fog lends an entirely different feel to those things that we see every day. It can make the "usual" something "unusual". It can cause us too see things in a entirely different light than we have ever seen them before. If one were to view the Cathedral on a clear night, their eyes would typically be drawn to the massive (150 foot) copper dome that adorns the crown of this magnificent structure. However, tonight my eyes could not go there. The fog forced them downward to the magnificent detail in the stonework in the main foundation of the edifice. I drive by this building most every day of my life. But tonight, not able to gaze at the dome, I noticed architectural details I had never noticed before. Thanks to the fog, I guess.

Sometimes I wish we could let the fog into the office. It might change what I see there too.

Please have a great weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.