Ker-Plunk!

The picture doesn't look like much, but for over 18 months I've been going back to this shady little back yard behind my friends' bookstore near my place. I've blipped it several times.

It was a semi-abandoned and very badly overgrown plot that I adopted as a personal project, simply to avoid idleness. HERE is the first time I blipped it, before I removed the major mulberry trees or the vines from the huge ailanthus.

HERE is what it looked like a month later, when the tree I cut today (at the rear) was the only tree still needing removal but already cropped, and I'd cut the vines back a lot.

But the best development is the my housemate Praxis and her 3-year old kiddo have taken on the plot as a serious garden project. They have excavated brick walkways and cleared a lot of ground cover, and soon the raised beds will go in, readying the garden for Spring planting.

The big problem with the tree I cut today was that it blocked most of the already-limited sun that comes from the South, over the tops of the buildings you see in this shot.

It is wonderful to see this rather far-fetched little project of mine turn into an ongoing garden project that has attracted others and which I know will be a flourishing, food-producing garden this year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.