Thankful!

Happy Thanksgiving to you all!

This is one of my favorite holidays. Not just because I get to stuff myself with yummy food. Not just because it usually means spending a day with my family. But also because it gives me a chance to think consciously about what I'm thankful for.

Today is actually going to be different from usual. My brother and sister-in-law are going south to spend the holiday with their younger son and his wife. Usually we spend the holiday with Dave and Nora and they cook a fantabulous typical Thanksgiving turkey dinner. But this year instead, we are having my other brother Steve and his friend Kai over to my house. I'm not cooking a turkey. Instead we are having salmon and pasta with butternut squash sauce (edging toward the typical but not quite there) and stir fried winter veggies. It should be very quiet and very lovely.

I posted a picture of Mehitabel because I am thankful that she is still here and is even more affectionate and loving than she has been in the past. Her brother Duma did somewhat eclipse her with his special goofy loving nature. She is a bit more circumspect. She doesn't like to be picked up and wants to be the manager of her own affection and ours, while Duma was game for anything including being picked up and given belly rubs and kisses, being flipped over so he front paws landed on the floor and I could rub his belly. He also did shoulder cat which Mehitabel, aka Missy Moo, would never tolerate. That being said, she is still a sweet, loving cat who seems to have recovered from the loss of her brother (who harassed her once and awhile) and is concentrating on "her" staff, Shelly and me.

So I am very thankful for: Shelly (oh my yes), my children (Jason, Helena and Lynda), my family (brothers Dave and Steve) and their spouses and friends (Nora and Kai), many many wonderful friends (artists, fellow caregivers, musical buddies, travel mates, and blip buddies to name a few), and as I mentioned my kitty Mehitabel. I'm thankful for good health (mine, Shelly's and that of my family and friends), and the fact that I can still do the things I love to do (like paint and attend plays and concerts) and that I am able to give back by volunteering at Dementia Support Northwest. I'm thankful for where I live: the condo, city, state, region (Pacific Northwest) and country (even with its warts and problems).  I am a very fortunate person and try to share my delight and love of life with those around me.

I wish you all time to reflect on the blessings in your life. My your life be filled with whatever makes you happiest and fulfilled.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.