Setting sun (Day 1667)

It was quite chilly this morning as I wandered up the hill with the woofers but at least it was dry.
My beautiful wife escaped from her overnight shift early and it was good to see her before I zoomed off to work.
First job of the day was to investigate a newly appeared damp patch in a customer's house. After cutting a hole in the wall, I found a pipe which had been chewed by a mouse. Fixing the leak was a quick job, but I suspect it will take a lot longer to sort the damage caused by the leak.
Next, a trip to the kirk in Stromness to look at a damp path there. I am fairly certain the problem is ingress of water from outside and it isn't something I can fix.
Too early for the next customer, I zoomed along to the yard to say hi to HV and the hosses.
The next customer wanted me to replace their mains stop cock, another quick and straightforward job. The next job was so close by that I didn't need to move the van. Disconnecting a washing machine was very quick and very easy. Job number five was a hot water problem, which I sorted by re-setting the safety cut out on the thermostat.
The final job was an emergency call out to a leak from a mains water pipe. The copper had been pinholed by corrosion and I had to cut away a fair chunk of wall to get access to the pipe, then discovered the pipe was an unusual size and had to head off to get some bits for the repair. On the way back to the job, I stopped at refuge corner to take a quick snap of the view across to Hoy.
Glad to be back home for an evening on the sofa with HV.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.