Stormy journey

I stayed in Dumfries last night (thanks Robertson and Emma) in order to be in Stranraer today to campaign .  I then set off in the early afternoon to go home to Argyll.

The weather was already very poor and got worse.   This is Ailsa Craig,  taken in the teeth of wind and rain at a parking  place between Ballantrae and Lendalfoot.  Follow blipper Woflie was with me, but her choice of shot for the day was much less troubled (though I know she did get a picture of me taking this !)

I dropped her off at Stewarton to get the train to Glasgow and by  the time I got to Loch Lomond it was dark and the rain was even more torrential.  The conditions remained very poor coming over the Rest and Be Thankful and all the way down to Glendaruel - some of the worst I can remember. 

But, if it is not a cliche to say it, the reception in Stranraer was warm and there is a lot work going on to elect Richard Arkless, who was the MP from 2015 to 2017 and certainly deserves to be again.    So helping that  - as well as Amanda Burgauer’s campaign in Lockerbie last night  - even a little made driving 320 miles from Edinburgh on Wednesday late afternoon to home this evening worth it ! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.