CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Some pages from Liz's latest project workbook

I went to see Liz to pick up a display stand she is lending to me. When I arrived John was out and I guessed Liz would be in her garden cabin which is her studio.

She had recently got back from a weeklong exhibition at Westonbirt Arboretum and she told me of several commissions she'd received. One of them was an off-shoot of her recent major project based on T S Eliot's 'Four Quartets'.

I was very interested in both the final creation she has produced as well as the creative journey which it had involved. She showed me painting and writing she had done on fabrics, complex and delicate sewing and sketches she'd made of various parts of the ongoing process. She opened one of her preparatory sketch books where she examined ideas and techniques. 

When she opened the book I immediately asked if I could take a picture for my blip to record these amazing rich colours, words, forms and cutouts which would eventually be involved in the final pieces. 

Liz Brooke Ward

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.