A "Motherism".

Unlike the rest of humanity, we grew up not with a Granny, Nanna, or any other version; we grew up with a "Mother".

We never checked but my theory is thus:-
Grandparents were, undoubtedly, very Victorian; in era if not attitude. Ergo Mam would, like as not, grow up addressing them as "Mother" & "Father" which she continued to do after we arrived and we were probably told to "Go & ask Mother ~ ~ ~ " or "Tell Mother~ ~ ~ " and we caught the habit.

I know of one family where the parents were addressed as Janet & John. (Names changed to protect me, rather than the innocent)
One of mother's statements was … "Some folk'll lent their bellies to owt."
Me being one of the "some folk". in that if I see a different comestible I'll give it a try; this being the most recent victim. 
I enjoyed them but think they're either fibbing, or some foul fiend got my share.
Difficult to follow - It says:-
Ingredients: Rice, Fried Cashews (15%), Coconut 15%,Sunflower oil, many more etc.s, but no more %s. I doubt if I found 4 cashews which, I'd hazard a guess, is WAY below 15%.
* ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ *
Extra - Update on the Carpet nap-creeping race:-
SIM moving along nicely and liable to overtake the skewer in the next lap. While the skewer has moved, the SIM has fairly whizzed  2 "posts" down the track.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.