A day in the life

By Shelling

Phonekrasch

Lately the battery for my iPhone 6 has needed changing. It needed re-charging at least twice a day and couldn't stand being burdened with two things at once. 
I watched instruction videos on youtube, saw that the battery itself was really cheap and I felt confident. It took me two hours changing the battery, mostly because I'm quite careful and had the instruction video running at the same time. Have you any idea how small screws they can make to put into a phone? Anyway, the change went fine and I was happy and proud. Next morning I went for a walk and found that my camera didn't work... at the same time I realised that, the phone rang and I found out that they could hear me but I couldn't hear them. Suddenly I felt less proud. 

An old student of mine happens to work at a phone-fix-place in Kalmar and he booked me for this morning. It took him ten minutes to find that I had broken the cable that controls the camera and the phone speaker and some other things, it took him another ten minutes to replace it and reassemble the phone and it was working again. My self confidence was scraping its bottom layer but he said those videos are usually making it look more simple than it is and they normally don't tell you what to look out for, after all they are in the business of making money selling spare parts. 

If you're in the same situation as me, go ahead and do these things if you feel confident but be very careful and maybe talk to someone who knows something first. My friend let me go without paying which was very kind of him but I felt a bit like being patted on my head, which I'm sure he didn't intend. Very happy I didn't have to buy a new phone though.

After being in the shop I had a coffee in the café and thought the lines going everywhere nicely visualised my conflicting emotional state. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.