Through a lens darkly

By oojeyboojey

Up above the streets and houses

I've been hoping to take a few macro shots of soap films for a while now. This snap was achieved by mangling a broken umbrella to make a wire loop, which I wrapped up in thin material and dunked in soap solution.

I tried a variety of different lighting conditions and backdrops but in the end I held the camera in my hand and started snapping at random angles! It's not quite perfect (I had to cut my experiments short as my husband returned home from his band rehearsal and was ready for dinner) but it's pretty!

Thin film interference is what causes these amazing colours, in case you were wondering.

On the theme of Rainbow, a friend of mine posted a link to this seemingly innocent 80's kid's TV show called Rainbow on their facebook page. I just had to share! Tee hee!

Edit: husband's in the bath, just had another go at it and updated the pic!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.