Loss

My over-riding emotion at the moment, for electoral and other reasons. 

This 1903 architect's ink drawing, with watercolour highlights, includes the house I have lived in for the last 27 years and which I will be leaving next year. Look at the wooden seats of the WCs, the coppers in the kitchens, the detail of the entrance tiles, the lettering... 

Our house and next door's needed total refurbishment when they were both in probate sales in 1992 and our builder rescued this, and two other architect's drawings of the row of five houses, from a skip outside next door. We had them framed and they have hung in our hall ever since. 

I don't want anyone making a profit from them or making them inaccessible to whoever lives in this house so have donated them to Oxfordshire County Council's local archives, along with the soldier's pay book I blipped on 1 November.

Today I went  to the archives to collect the emptied frames and to photograph the drawings. I will print copies to go back into the frames for the next owners of this house and I will keep digital copies because I love them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.