An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Anyone for Cricket?

Backdated Blip 40

My first foray into 'proper' sports photography.

I prefer cricket as it's usually in better and more comfortable weather and I used to (try to) play it as a lad.

At the south Wilts ground, it's free entry and you're about the only snapper there. There is a collection box toward the end, which is definitely worth helping fill and you also get some good cricket (hopefully).

It was also the first time that I had the pure sheer focal length required, the Sigma 150-500mm on DX cropped Nikon D7000, mounted on a monopod, though finding neutral, clutter-free backgrounds almost impossible.

I was frankly rather surprised that I got anything, let alone the dozen or so pretty quite good ones that I did, such as this. Encouraging.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.