rower2012

By rower2012

One street, our street #4

It has been almost a month since I last did blip #3 of One street, our street, back on December 19th. Time has slipped by so quickly. That blip included some agapanthus, and in this current blip the dark blue of the agapanthus features along with a very attractive looking bird, a New Holland Honey Eater.

Now that most flowers with lots of nectar are past their peaks, the agapanthus comes into its own, and is a very good source of nectar for the birds. It was just a fluke that this blip took place today, right across the street from our house. I was planning a long shot looking up the street from the bottom of the road where our street blip #3 was taken.

Just for something different I thought I would use the 2X and 70-200 lens, in case a long zoom shot of houses at the far end of the street looked interesting. I had only gone a few steps down the street when movement in the aggies caught my eye. It was this New Holland Honey Eater having a feed of nectar. See it sweeter in large.

In fact the whole bank on the side of the street opposite is covered with hundreds of agapanthus plants - from the roadside edge to the owner's fence. It is a wonderful display of aggies and bears britches (acanthus mollis) and if anyone is interested in this combination, I could blip it next time I am in street scene mode. But I'll have to be quick because the flowers tend to finish quite rapidly as the heat progresses.

Although it was 34C today, Paladian and I followed on with our regular Wednesday afternoon gardening session, pulling out agapanthus and bagging them up! We still have plenty left!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.