Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

Let it snow - in the snow globe

This cold, wintry blizzard-like scene is the last vestige of Christmas decor waiting to be put away, so a quick blip photo was in order before these music-playing snow globes went back into hiding until next year.

Since the snow globes were in my living room where all my music stuff resides, and since I am very, very easily distracted, I soon found myself riffling through my big box of "choral music past" (all this while being "at work" of course. O, the trials of being the boss of me.)

I spent a few moments reading through the various titles, then the lyrics, then my old notes hastily scrawled along the sides. Memories of early rehearsals, Sarabande days, auditions, and vocal epiphanies soon came to the fore. With my brief singing experience, I know I have only scratched the surface of choral repertoire. Nevertheless, I can say with confidence, that The Lake Isle of Innisfree is, and will perhaps always be, my favorite song, both for its beautiful melody written by Eleanor Daley, as well as its lyrics, the beautiful poem of the same name, by W.B. Yeats. This piece captured something that was very real for me, not too long ago. Now that I've relocated away from the countryside, it provides a reminder of the beauty and simplicity of rural living. I had the pleasure of hearing Elektra Women's Choir perform this piece a few nights ago, at Diane Loomer's memorial. Here is the poem:

I will arise and go now, and go to Innisfree,
And a small cabin build there, of clay and wattles made:
Nine bean-rows will I have there, a hive for the honey-bee;
And live alone in the bee-loud glade.

And I shall have some peace there, for peace comes dropping slow,
Dropping from the veils of the morning to where the cricket sings;
There midnight's all a glimmer, and noon a purple glow,
And evening full of the linnet's wings.

I will arise and go now, for always night and day
I hear lake water lapping with low sounds by the shore;
While I stand on the roadway, or on the pavements grey,
I hear it in the deep heart's core.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.