Bleak Midwinter

Brrr!!!

It was minus 6 this morning when I headed out to the supermarket. Did a quick top-up shop, and then popped over to the nature reserve. I took lots of frosty close-ups but decided to blip this general view. The frozen stream that you can see running through the middle of the shot is swarming with damselflies and dragonflies during summer!

A few months ago I had never heard of a waxwing, today I was gutted to learn that approximately 70 had been at the reserve about an hour before I arrived....apparently a local photographer managed to take photos so I guess I'll probably see them in the local press! Blip has certainly made me more aware of our feathered friends!

Rob is supposed to have a school footie match after school today, still planned to go ahead at the moment on astroturf.....think I'm going to need a dozen layers to keep out the cold!

Wednesday already blippers.....hope you're keeping warm and that the weather is not causing you too much inconvenience x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.