PaulaJ

By PaulaJ

Heron

A quick blip in the middle of doing a hundred and one things before we set off on Friday. As I was in Carlisle, I took a brief detour and blipped a Flood Plaque. This is one that I particularly like and which illustrates well the idea that these are all individual little pieces of art. Apparently seven of the pieces were designed to depict some of the wildlife found along Carlisle's river corridors. Consultations were held with local people and natural history experts and they came up with the species that were thought to be the most important. So here is the Heron. I know the brick wall isn't very scenic, but it is part of the Flood Defence Wall and the bricks give an idea of the size of these plaques.

Blipbear update
Don't worry, Blipbear is quite safe. I think he is keeping out of the way whilst I rush around.

Blipbear in New Zealand
I am providing here a list of our main stopping places in New Zealand; an idea of where we will be and when. I have temporarily added my email to my 'About' page, so if anyone thinks they could be around at the same time as we are, maybe they could contact me and arrange something. The idea with Blipbear is that he should appear in as many Journals as possible, so if some meetings could be arranged, that would all to the good.

Arrive in Auckland on the 20th January
New Plymouth - 21st to 24th
Wellington 24th to 26th
Kaikoura 26th to 31st
Christchurch 31st January and 1st February
Wanaka 2nd February to 7th

Blipbear is staying in Wanaka for a few days, in the care of Tussock, until Jeanne picks him up and continues his journey through New Zealand and onward. He will eventually arrive back in Yorkshire, UK.

We meanwhile will be heading off to Fox Glacier, Taupo, Russell and finally Auckland. We leave Auckland on the 25th February.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.