Shouldn't you be at the North Pole?

But you're hanging around Stirling and you'd better get a move on. The Go Forth Land Train has been transformed into a Christmas special for the festivities. It trundles up to the castle and was doing a good trade this afternoon.

It's a lovely mild, sunny day and I've been out in the fresh air a lot. Normally on Christmas Eve I'm busy in the kitchen because, in the past, we've had a family party which by tradition means fish pie. But times change and traditions change too. For the first time since he was born in 1980 our elder son T won't be with us for Christmas. He, his partner K and their baby son L are in Poland with K's family. L will be celebrating his first Christmas today, Wigilia, with his Polish grandparents and uncle. Although I'll miss them of course I'm really pleased that K's parents will have this delight as we are lucky enough to see them much more frequently. They've unfortunately been in the grip of a D&V bug but I think they're ok for the celebration this evening.

The four year old and her baby sister really need to be in their own home this evening ready for an early night. So we won't be seeing them till tomorrow. The plan had been for Cameraman and me to meet Lyn and her friend J for a meal tonight. However, J and Cameraman have declared themselves unfit for polite company. I've not seen J but I can definitely vouch for Cameraman who is uncharacteristically full of an unpleasant cold. It's usually me who gets a virus at Christmas but I feel fit as a flea. So it'll be Lyn and me for a meal this evening at the Golden Crown, the unpretentious Chinese restaurant that's been in Stirling longer than us. And early nights all round. Meanwhile the carols on the radio are calling.

If you leave a mince pie and a dram out for Santa tonight I hope he finds his way to your house.

Happy Wigilia, Happy Christmas Eve

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.