Lens Hospital

This is possibly the last shot I'll take with my trusty 24-70 m F2.8 Nikkor lens which has been handed over for repair, after its fall. It will be sent to Nikon in Madrid and they will charge an arm and a leg to repair the twisted casing, or the same amount to send me a new replacement lens, which they apparently do in the vast majority of cases; buying a new lens across the counter in the normal way would be double the price. Apparently, they are so snowed under with work, it is more practical to issue replacements. Let's see what happens. So not sure if this is an adios or, simply, an au revoir . Need to dig out an old lens to stand in during the month or two this transaction will take.

For those interested, during the summer I had been playing with a heavy duty gorilla tripod and inadvertently pressed the lens release button. When I picked the camera up by the body the lens free fell onto a hard terrace, my futile attempt to break its fall leaving me only with a nearly broken bone in my foot!

PS
Also had the sensor of my camera cleaned today, and learned that operating the zoom acts like a little air suction pump each time, pulling particles of dust along the extenable lens tube and inside the camera body...you can imagine the state mine was in after Egypt!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.