Chess Man

Peter May is the author of a number of books the most recent of which is The Chess Men , the third in his Isle of Lewis based trilogy that started with The Black House and moved on to The Lewis Man.

I first met Peter when he originated and then produced the Gaelic language TV soap opera " Machair" and he certainly absorbed the island and the culture from his production base in Stornaway.

Consequently his trilogy is fantastically true to the location as well as being wonderfully plotted and tremendously readable. He also spoke very well at his publishers event in Blackwell's in Edinburgh tonight for which Roseanna Cunningham had got me a ticket .

Alas she heard him and I didn't - I got delayed and arrived just as he sat down. She also blipped him ( and me) first !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.