Playing with Fire

When I was growing up my dad had a fireplace insert to warm the house up. He was known to keep the house so warm that the neighbors new we had a fire going when the front door was open when it was 20 F / -7 C outside. A few times when the chimney had been inspected, the common words were -"That's the cleanest chimney we have ever seen". So hot no creosote had a chance. As life went on, the stove was removed (my dad had melted the cast iron stove) and just a few regular fires were had. Eventually the front of the fireplace was covered up to prevent heat loss... a water leak from the old bricks happened and was repaired and...   Today though in honor of my dad, my mom decided to have a fire. In these 4 photos I just changed on setting on the camera, the ISO. I prefer the top two photos but....

Supper time in an hour with family, presents, dessert, talking, laughing and....  A wonderful way to spend a Sunday.. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.