WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Hatless in the snow

That was me this lunchtime. Brrr! The temperature was probably only just about freezing -- in fact, in sunny spots in the village a thaw was going on. But the wind chill factor out in the open was something else. My fingers were in agony for the few seconds I took a glove off to take a photo, and I couldn't see what I was doing for my streaming eyes. As we all know, there's no such thing as bad weather, only inappropriate clothing. I wished I'd worn a hat, and Alaric probably did too. I didn't stay out there long!

Thanks for all the comments and favourites on yesterday's snowy blip. I admit to being surprised -- I just stepped out of the door, leaned on a parked car, and pressed the shutter. What's more I got the white balance wrong, which is what gives that attractive greenish tint :) I remember PaulaJ expressing surprise that her "ordinary street" was so fascinating to others (including me!). Apart from the snow, yesterday's blip was a view I see every single day, too familiar to be interesting or noteworthy for me. A reminder that the ordinary can be interesting and beautiful! Perhaps I should make this my one street for Kendall's project :)

PS if you go large, you might just be able to see some vines.

PPS I couldn't decide whether to crop the houses out or not. In the end I left them in, because they give a sense of the closeness of the village to the mountain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.