Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Athena

I often walk past this sculpture in Barrack Street on my way to Martin place or George St.  Unlike here, there are usually a mob of smokers at her plinth.  I think it makes a good spoke to rest the coffee while smoking and looking at your phone.  I have to say I think there are a lot more smokers in Sydney than in Newie.  Perhaps it is simply that there are more people.

Anyhoo, the statue is modelled on the fourth-century bronze statue of the goddess Athena found in Piraeus in 1959, (known as the Piraeus Athena) which is now on display at the Piraeus Archaeological Museum in Greece.
Athena was given to Sydney by the Mayor of Athens as a symbolic gift during the Sydney Olympic Games.

I am horrified seeing the extent of the fires on the news.   I can't believe how extensive they are and how much has been burnt.  My thoughts go out to the people and animals affected, particularly today (now Saturday morning)  when they expect that the conditions will worsen with high temps and strong winds.  My prayers are that it will not be as bad as predicted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.