rower2012

By rower2012

Jiminy Grasshopper #4

Those of you who have been following me know I am passionate about grasshoppers. There is something about their power and athletic ability that really appeals to me.

Last night I shot some photos of a large praying mantis, but my blip was already up for the day, plus it was getting dark. Today it was back out into our back garden, looking for the mantis, but he was nowhere to be found.

Instead I found this incredible grasshopper, the "best dressed" most handsome one I have seen to date. He makes #4 in my collection and I do feel he is the best one yet. Seen even more handsome in LARGE.

Once again see the powerful springs in those back legs and the beautiful markings on his back. Because she loves to do research Paladian offered to try and track down this little fellow for me. We thought he looked particularly interesting, all dressed up in his suit with the white stripes.

Typically, she could not find a recognisable image on the internet for her to identify it, (this usually leads to a shut office door and a stream of profanity issuing forth). It might be a Wingless Grasshopper - Phaulacridium vittatum. I am pleased that it's not one of the plague locusts that are often so devastating in this country.

Ten minutes later she announced that she's pretty sure that's what it is, the wingless wonder, as I call it. At least it took my mind off the Aussie's performance in the One Day International cricket today! No pun intended.

Here is grasshopper #1, here is #2 and here is #3 from my previous grasshopper blips.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.