Pictorial blethers

By blethers

What a difference ...

Almost exactly 24 hours after I took the shots of the moon in a clear sky over the Firth, I spotted the MV Coruisk making the last railhead-town centre crossing of the day as the text messages pinged into my phone warning that the service was suspended for the rest of today. A day that began so calmly, with clear sky and little bits of ice, has subsided once more into the the embrace of yet another weather front barrelling across the Atlantic, and the ferry in the photo, though twice the size of the usual baby boats, cannot berth safely. It is, of course, a car ferry, and I can't help wondering if the added ballast of cars wouldn't make it more stable, but under the current circumstances it's not allowed to carry cars. Good, eh?

In other news, the work in the bedroom is at last finished. We've re-hung the cleaned curtains, Mr PB precariously balanced on the ladder despite his increasing longevity, and I've polished the bookcase for the first time this century (I don't think of polishing when it's full of books). The decorators put two coats of paint on the gable wall and most of it has now dried - I'll stick an extra* in for anyone who cares. With any luck I'll sleep in my own bed tonight ...

*Sacrificed at the end of the year to let me have another extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.