Penguin Droppings

By gen2

Long-Tailed Duck (Male)

Just on Wednesday, Chris Packham was enthusing over long-tailed ducks (Clangula hyemalis) up near Aberdeen.

I didn't have to go that far though. I went just 1 mile along to Kirkcaldy Harbour and there just below me was this beautiful male long-tailed duck.

Normal compositional guidelines dictate that you should have more space in front of a creature than you have behind it. I have deviated here because of the huge length of its tail feathers which stretch under-water all the way to the right-hand edge (you may just be able to make them out). I couldn't leave any more space on the left because this is full-frame - there isn't any more.

This male bird was on its own but I blipped a female of the same species that had found its way onto an inland loch on the 8th November.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.