The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Redbreast

Well, as the revised weather forecast predicted, the snow passed us by. This was welcome news to many, but not to all. For me it meant another grey and colourless day when I had been hoping for snow clad trees. It meant another morning walk with Gus in the half light, failed attempts to take a photo of him as he hid behind me and leaned against my legs.

So I settled for a splash of colour from one of our garden robins standing on the icy wall, waiting for me to go away so she could get on with her breakfast. As winter's grip tightens, bird numbers in the garden are growing, the blackbirds in particular. There are as many as a dozen waiting for me to put the morning feed out, and the Boss is definitely one of them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.