ABSTRACT THURSDAY - MACRO

I remember many years ago seeing a man on television who could identify flowers from just looking at the seeds - so I wonder if anyone would be able to identify this?

I have tweaked it a little in my Painteresque App and this is the result - a lovely macro abstract for today’s challenge.  These are seedheads from a plant called “Cirsium Atropurpureum” or more commonly known as  “Plume Thistle” and I have no doubt that these will be distributed around the garden by Mr. HCB in due course.

I met Julia, a long-standing friend, for coffee this morning at Jack’s when we had a good catch-up and when she left, I saw two more friends so had a chat with them.  Their son, Miles and our older son, Martyn, used to be in Scouts together many years ago, and I don’t see them very often, so it was good to catch-up with them too. 

I’m now back home and the plumber is here fitting our new dishwasher, after our old one “gave up the ghost” and spewed water all over the kitchen a few days before Christmas, so Mr. HCB is delighted and hopes his “dish-pan hands” soon heal.  

We ordered the new dishwasher through Simon, the owner of Dream Doors, who fitted our new kitchen in September and we have wondered perhaps whether we should have had a new one then, which might have saved us all this angst.  After a few text messages with Simon to find out when the new one would be fitted, when he arrived today he very kindly brought some Laura Ashley Hand and Nail Cream for Mr. HCB.  I think I might be using it more than he does - although it does say on the pack to “massage gently into hands and cuticles to keep skin soft” and Mr. HCB has been grumbling a lot about his hands - Simon did offer a pair of Marigolds as well but Mr. HCB wasn’t very keen on using those so declined his offer!

A lovely start to the day, although it is now hammering down with rain again - and it’s so windy, so stay safe everyone - but it’s only 64 days until Spring starts!

“No winter lasts forever;
     no spring skips its turn.”
Hal Borland

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.