Capital adventures

By marchmont

Sunset

Got up this morning to find no water. Turned out there was a mains problem exterior to the hotel. Yesterday the safe was fixed, today the bulbs in the balcony were replaced so I have light but still no plug for the sink. I don't think that will materialise. In other ways this block is a bit 'Soviet era'. Long, noisy corridors and an ancient shower set up (not to mention the box style TV). However, the shower works and is really hot.

Today I discovered I appear to be getting free breakfasts, after having been told I wouldn't and that the expensive boat trip I was going to go on is no longer running (does that cancel out yesterday). I booked a less expensive snorkelling trip and then spent the rest of the day in the sun, moving from the relatively noisy poolside area to the concrete platform with direct access to the sea, which returned early afternoon. It feels like the set up in Minorca, with no sand to get everywhere.

This hotel seems to be used by a Scandinavian tour company. Finnish from the looks of the names and quite a few kids.

I had a happy hour pina colada as the sun went down and was then befriended in the restaurant by a Yorkshire couple. I'd have read my book but seemed rude to refuse and they were very pleasant.

Back on the balcony or nice to have light.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.