Colstro

By Colstro

Shadow

Today's challenge was to find a shadow and shoot it.

Today was not a good day for this challenge. The sky was a uniform, drab, grey with occasional falling snow; the light was so flat and uniform that there wasn't even the hint of a shadow anywhere. My only solution was to wait until sunset when the artificial lights were switched on and they created the shadows I was looking for.

I spent the day at Greenwich. The main reason was to visit the excellent Ansel Adams exhibition at the National Maritime Museum - surely a "must see" for any landscape photographers. When I finally emerged from the museum, the light was already failing and I noticed that the low level floodlights on the Old Royal Naval College cast giant shadows on the building of pedestrians passing by. So I spent a happy 20 minutes waiting for the right person to pass by the right part of the building at the right distance from the floodlight. I loved the shadow of this guy and his umbrella. I knew I had captured my blip for today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.