Parliament Hill + cloud

A better sleep last night.  Mum had taken a Nytol so was sparko, and still quite dopey today!  We blew the cobwebs away with a(bout a mile long) walk over to Hampstead Heath though, and I pushed Mum all the way to the top of Parliament Hill.  It nearly killed me, but I did it!  Lots of lovely people offered to help, but I was determined to do it myself, so politely declined.  

The sky was so odd this morning - it had steadily been clouding over, after a pretty spectacular sunrise, but by the time we got out of the hotel the sky was neatly divided in two - blue skies on one side and a thick bank of cloud on the other (over central London, as you can see from this photo).  

Walked back to the hotel, past Highgate Cemetery, which I'd love to visit another time - such a beautiful setting with the tumbledown headstones nestled among the trees.  Stopped in at M&S Food again and picked up a couple of wraps for lunch.  Ate them in the Premier Inn car park again, and I then had a frustrating 20 mins or so of trying to set the satnav to take us home via the A303.  Every time I tried to put in a postcode the touchscreen registered a press somewhere else on the screen.  I swore and shouted a lot - and apologise to my Mum a lot too.  Finally, eventually, managed it somehow, and set off for Somerset about 2:30pm.

Had a good run back - only about three and a half hours this time - but so tired and ready to just get in and stop driving!  Made us a quick pasta dinner when we got back, and Mum's carer came to help her to bed a little while later.  Phoned Tim, then got off to bed myself at 10pm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.