A place in time

By Verbosa

Bimbling

A damp, soggy day spent bimbling indoors.  Perhaps I should entitle my various collections of pottering at home as The Custard Cream Chronicles?  Hmmm...I like that title :)  Otherwise known as "I don't get out much!"

Anyway, there was much excitement on my part today when I discovered that you really can get rid of old limescale buildup on the end of taps by letting it soak in a little limescale remover in one of those silicone bulb gizmos...then chipping away the softened encrustation with a 2p coin.  That's the secret - the coin.  Yes, it really does work.  Who'd have thunk, eh?  Needless to say, I've been chipping away to my hearts content throughout the house and now everything gleams.

I've also found online household tips for using WD40 too:
* cleans silver (apparently, will let you know)
* cleans water/salt stains on leather shoes (ditto, will let you know)
* cleans water marks from shower screens (gotta try this)

Oh, and I've used some very old (thick & gloopy) fabric conditioner (liberated from Mr A's father's house but seemed too good to throw away although I didn't fancy it on my clothes) to clean and swish the toilet bowls, leaving them shiny & fragrant. 

This pic is simply an up-shot of my laundry lines above the washing machine...which was made for me by Mr A and for some strange reason brings me endless joy. 

Thought for the day:

“Joy is what happens to us when we allow ourselves to recognize how good things really are.”   (Marianne Williamson)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.