A place in time

By Verbosa

Tips from the past

When we were clearing Mr A’s father’s house last year, we came across this little notebook that belonged to Mr A’s mother.  It is packed full of little household tips, and I just love it!  I’m surprised Mr A’s sister didn’t want it.  Anyhow, Mr A’s mother was also a great one for “decanting” and “mixing” things into alternative containers, which is something I have always done.  Don’t they say that men often end up marrying girls who are like their mothers?  Well, outwardly, we were nothing alike but I guess there are some similarities with our love of homespun cleaning and fondness for mis-matched china.

The notebook also makes mention of an old-fashioned “Sheila Maid” on this page, so I guess my “Mr A handmade airing lines affixed to old oak blocks & brass rings version” [fondly called something else in our house…but I won’t print that here] (also see 26th) is about the same thing.  (Sadly, I don’t have enough ceiling height to hang a proper  Sheila Maid)

Anyway, as an update from my mention of uses for WD40 for cleaning from Sunday: silver – yes; water marks on shoes – yes; water marks on shower screens – yes, BUT left the glass smeary but then I went over with a clean cloth and my recent surgical sprit/water cleaner concoction and left everything sparkling :)

This is an early blip for me today since Mr A and I plan to go to see the film 1917 tonight...and we save £1 on the price for Mr A as he's now a senior (chuckle).

RIP Nicholas Parsons

Thought for the day:


“I know enough to know that no woman should ever marry a man who hated his mother.”  (Martha Gellhorn)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.