Mono Monday - Grow

My Mono Monday entry is the word “GROW” and is inspired by my daughter. The photo I took is off my hair because it grows very quickly and always has done. It can also be very unruly! My hair naturally curls and I have spent years straightening it! In the summer last year whilst on holiday I stopped straightening it and when we returned I continued to let curl and then somehow I started to get the straighteners back out.  My daughter has been telling me for weeks that I should let my hair curl because it looks more natural and I am taking her advice, as unruly as it can sometimes be. 
 
She inspired me last week because she has had some difficulties which girls often face when they start to grow up so I wrote a poem (see below). 
 
We are all different, unique and rather than pick out people’s differences with criticism, we should celebrate our differences. Wouldn’t it be dull if we were all the same? I can remember the difficulties of being an adolescent and wanting desperately to fit in with everyone and not stand out, because those differences would end up being the target of cruel words. 
 
Through life we continue to grow – perhaps not in size (although we often do) but in our wisdom, knowledge, relationships and our views of the world.
 
Here is my poem dedicated to my daughter.

When will I grow?

“I’m smaller than them, but you tell me I’ll grow
But people tower above me and I’m stuck below,
Their words are cruel though I don’t let it show,
Mum, tell me, when will I grow?” 

You are beautiful, I say, from head to toe,
Unique and smart and your soul is aglow,
What matters is in your heart, you know,
And your heart my darling will continue to grow.
 
Be true to your heart, and you will know 
You shine as bright as the brightest rainbow,
Be bold, be you, and go forth with gusto,
My child, my treasure, my unique little beau.
 
Mindful life

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.