Blue Hamish

By BlueHamish

A Winter Walk

Missed out on the chance of a walk on Saturday but managed it today. Probably the better of the 2 days as it was snowing so everywhere looked lovely and clean and white.

I took my Ricoh as it has a 24mm wide angle lens which I thought would be suitable for landscapes. Only 2 issues with that decision:

1) We saw a herd of deer and I couldn't get a picture with the puny zoom on the Ricoh
2) I had forgotten how poor the Ricoh performs at anything other than a low ISO so many of the pictures were just too grainy to be usable.

In the end, it was this grainy picture of SWHMBO striding off ahead of me that I selected as it best captured the conditions of the day. The wind was driving the snow across us which made feel colder than it really was.

All in all a lovely walk, and just round the corner from the house. Amazing that herds of wild deer live so close but are so elusive. Must take a camera with a decent zoom next time.

Oh, and that hunters style hat I was wearing may keep the ears warm but it doesn't allow you to creep up on a herd of deer. They scarpered before I even got close.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.