My morning walkabout

 took me on a  short lap of Chudleigh  in search of the local water supply of days gone by. I did some more research on returning home.

          DIPPING PLACE OF POTWATER

         ANCIENT TOWN WATER SUPPLY

PROVIDED BY BISHOP LACEY CIRCA AD 1430

      CUT OFF BY NEW BY-PASS AD 1973

My previous blip was of the original reservoir which was where the spring water collected from the Whiteway estate. There were 6 Dipping places, today I found 4, 2 in New Exeter Street, 1 in Fore Street, the fourth in Clifford Street. 2 more to find. Mum & I went in search of a disused lime kiln on the outskirts of Chudleigh this afternoon but decided it would be easier to go for a good walk, & explore more of the areas footpaths at the same time.

I planted up the remaining broad bean seed this morning, then cut back some untidy shrubs,  hardy fuchsias, & Snowberry. Brushed the pavement outside the front garden, but it will soon be untidy again as the blackbirds have been scratching about.

Mum stayed for dinner, then I dropped her home.

Thanks to Marlieske for hosting Derelict Sunday









     

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.