Braving the storm

I've been hunkered down while Storm Ciara raged - fortunately, in our sheltered little corner, we've not suffered any damage, though the pine tree at the bottom of the garden was swaying quite alarmingly when the winds were at their fiercest.

Today, cabin fever got the better of me and I headed out for a very, very bracing walk round Gunwade Lake at Ferry Meadows. A small bunch of photographers were standing on the edge of the lake waiting for a glimpse of the resident otter, but I didn't join them - I felt that it was unlikely to show itself for long in such blustery conditions. 

A little further along the path I spotted a pair of stonechats, gradually working their way along the fence, dropping down into the tussocky grassland to find a tasty morsel and then flying back up again to perch on the wire. They seemed remarkable unperturbed by the gale, with scarcely a ruffled feather, unlike the grey heron who was definitely having a bad hair day.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.