One click at a time

By KeithKnight

January Daily Challenge - What I do

Day 21 of Neet's January daily challenge - What you do: Do you go to school? Train elephants at the circus? Write at home? Play mum to your kids? Act as CEO to a big business? Paint in your spare time? Dance when no one is looking? Take a photo of what you do {something that makes you 'you'} and share it.

What I do for a living can sometimes be hard to explain - so here goes -

I work in the Broadcast industry (mostly in television) where nowadays I design the systems that playout the programmes and get them to the satellite so that you can watch them complain there's nothing on.

This involves me -

Having a cup of tea,
Drawing pretty pictures schematic diagrams of the systems,
Having a cup of tea,
Playing in Excel Compiling a list of all the different cables needed,
Having a cup of tea,
Chatting to sales people ordering everything needed,
Having a cup of tea,
Thinking it's Christmas every day opening boxes and checking the deliveries,
Having a cup of tea,
Playing with lots of new toys configuring the very complex equipment,
Having a cup of tea,
Chatting to the pretty operators training the operators,
Having a cup of tea,
Chatting to the geeks training the support staff,
Having a cup of tea,
Denying it was anything to do with me offer after-sales service.

At the moment I am working on the proposal for a contract renewal and equipment update, if all goes well I shall be able to fit the odd cup of tea into my working day for a few more months.

Did I mention I have the odd cup of tea?, it's highlighted in my blip :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.