Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Innocent dreams

On the way home from blip safari, I stopped off at a local eatery for some sustenance. Everyone noticed the huge camera hanging from my neck and insisted on a photograph of the baby being cooed over at the back of the café.

Why - I asked myself, as none of the people owned a computer to view the images that I took. All they were ever going to see was the image in the preview window of my camera for a few seconds. People just like to know that they have had their photo taken I guess.

I thought the best solution would be to upload and give a link to anyone who wanted to see the image, as everyone has access to an internet café. Seeing as my Flickr account is full and I have not yet posted the ubiquitous baby blip, I elected to post it here for your entertainment.

I had to climb over busy diners for a good position and the light was awful with a very low wattage bulb illuminating the gloom. I took a few natural light shots, but knew that they had no chance, so I finished off with a couple of flash shots, of which this was the best.

I think it shows that flash need not be a swear word in portraiture. I am very happy with the result.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.