Who am I to disagree?

By longshanks

James and the Red Deer Stag

A couple of pints last night, yes two, and I'm not feeling good this morning. Took me most of the morning to get over it, but then we're on the train to Corrour and a short walk to Loch Ossian Youth hostel.

Why when you're warm indoors, drinking cups of tea, do you then feel the need to go outside into the blustery cold for a wander? Well I don't know the answer, but off I went and was joined by James. Returning to the Youth Hostel the warden, Jan, had put out seed for the birds. Now at home we have a problem with Grey Squirrels at our bird table, at Loch Ossian Jan has a problem with Red Deer!

That evening it was a short walk back to the Corrour Station House Restaurant where we were holding our gathering. Superb food, superb singing from a couple of American lasses, all in all a superb evening. I'd thoroughly recommend the restaurant if you can sort out the logistics, trust me it's worth the effort.

My poetic contribution to the evening that normally takes me months to compose or more recently just doesn't happen. Wasn't looking good until a couple of hours before and then inspiration struck:

Each to their own

The rock climber practices his moves
Finding the holds in hidden grooves
He climbs his route and returns to the ground
Then tells his mates of the new route he's found
What's The Point?

The cross country skier with his big sack
Spends lots of time flat on his back
Travels the Arctic from hut to hut
His workmates though think he's a nut
What's The Point?

The Munro bagger works on his list
Not seeing a lot while up in the mist
Eventually though his name's in the book
But not many people bother to look
What's The Point?

We've found a new hobby, started chasing birds
Drove down to Sunderland and joined the herds
Of birders and photographers all trying to see
A beautiful bird that's eating a bee
What's The Point?

The point my friend is, it's what you enjoy
So don't be deterred, just plan your next ploy
To those that detract and seem only to moan
Simply smile and say, each to their own.
That's The Point.



My Bee-eater
RCB's Bee-eater

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.