Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Drill

I got spared a 19-floor climb to the ground today due to being a couple of minutes late! A fire drill was being conducted with no prior warning. They picked the perfect day as temperatures have dropped for the next few days. My blip is looking up at the "Assembly" point. Someone commented that it's always the same office on the same side of the building that is used for practice.

G picked me up later and we finished the process we started on Tuesday to renew her driver's licence. It's only valid for five years, but that's better than what we thought it was changing to.

We then headed to Al Quoz, to the garage who now have the Volvo. A supplier in the US asked for pictures of the engine and dashboard. It was great to see the car again as it had to be driven to where I was. It goes, just not for very long!

Pictures captured, we headed back home via a newly opened Pizza Express. Park and Shop is now well and truly flattened and a number of the businesses from there have moved into new buildings close by. We walked into the largest Pizza Express I've ever been in, and possibly the coolest! I'll have to post a picture of the interior the next time I am there.

And our little Awana kids seem to be understanding what we require of them. Apart from a couple of kids playing up, we mostly had a really good and happy session. We came straight home. I had wanted to swing by Media City to see if we could hear Spyro Gyra playing at the Jazz Festival. They are the only jazz artist on the bill. Lionel Richie is the headline act tonight. I wish they had more sensible prices for the tickets! GK over and out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.