Two Trees Against a Cold Sunrise

"Antisthenes says that in a certain faraway land the cold is so intense that words freeze as soon as they are uttered, and after some time then thaw and become audible, so that words spoken in winter go unheard until the next summer." - Plutarch, Moralia


If indeed there is weather cold enough to freeze the words as they drip from one's tongue, surely this must be it!

As the weather folks predicted, we have dropped into the deep, deep freeze. Local temperatures Tuesday morning were around 9 degrees F (-13 C), with even colder temperatures on the way for Wednesday.

It was morning. I was driving to work and spotted the sun rising. I pulled over to take a picture of these two trees against its golden tones. Light but no warmth on a mid-winter's morning.

The dozen pictures I snapped during those few minutes were the only ones I took all day. This cold weather is crimping my camera habit. Even I, who consider myself a hardy sort, can't stay out long in this weather.

The two trees in this picture seem to be leaning toward each other; they almost seem to be gently holding hands, like a pair of lovers watching the sunrise.

If you look closely, near the top of the tree on the right, just to left of its top center is a small bird nest: summer's secret, but all is revealed in winter.

I imagine in spring and summer, when the nest is in use, the view from there is quite something. On this particular morning, it was a perfect vantage point for watching the birth of a sparkling, crystal dawn.

I was reminded of the words to a love song by Townes van Zandt that talks about the sunrise.

"Well the night's forlorn and the morning's born
And the morning's born with the lights of love.
And you'll miss sunrise if you close your eyes,
And that would break my heart in two."

You can listen to Don Williams and Emmylou Harris sing this song - If I Needed You - on Youtube.


P.S. If you enjoy frosty cold mornings, trees, and bird nests, you might also enjoy January 3's blip, Crystal Dawn.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.