St Mary's

I visited St Mary's Music School in Edinburgh this morning which the Scottish Government supports through an aided places scheme. It is a wonderful centre of excellence and the small concert that students put on at the end of my visit concluded with the final movement of Beethoven's String Quartet Op 18 No 2 in G Major.

It has always been one of my favourite quartets and it was superbly performed by 6th year music school students Ye-Ye Xu, Helen Stirling, Morag Robertson and Dana Wieczorek.

The small concert took place in the chapel which is used as a performance space but the building was, of course, formerly the Episcopal Theological College. About half way through It occurred to me that I would have been sitting in almost exactly the same spot exactly 40 years ago when I was a student there, though not enjoying myself half as much !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.