A few of my favourite things...

Hats and roses are two of my favourite things. After what feels like a long week I intend on getting some me-time this weekend with a few of the things that make me happy.

The current situation is not bringing out the best in people and I just wish everyone would be a bit more kind. I’ve experienced people snapping, rudeness and downright nasty comments and that’s just in the queue in Savers. Retail staff must be at the end of their tether!

A dear friend is in and out of hospital and I am sure feeling frazzled and just wishing she could stay at home. With a suppressed immune system it’s a troubling time for her. We joked about when will spring ever come after all the rain and wind. I’ve been buying daffodils to will the seasons to switch!

The media is turning people crazy too. After working with the press for over 20 years I get so frustrated with how the total saturation of constant (often sensationalised) news headlines turns people into a complete frenzy. Happens every time. Yes this situation is serious and we need to take extra precautions with hygiene and adapt our routines but all of a sudden everyone is a scientist or - worse - a politician again just like Brexit!

Did we Brits behave like this in World War Two? No. I’m not a fan of the snowflake society we’ve become. Dunkirk spirit that’s what we need! I’m thinking of removing myself from Facebook for a while as people are starting to get really bloody nasty on there. It’s just unpleasant and quite stressful when friends start attacking each other.

Work wise it was a busy day. One big US production cancelled filming in the UK altogether which is a big loss of revenue. The location manager, like many of the crew, is self employed and they are now out of work without pay indefinitely. Meanwhile several big TV dramas from UK productions are planning filming for the summer and fingers crossed by then some state of normality will resume so some of us at least can stay in work!

The feature film side of the industry is being hit hard with bigger crews and mostly international productions on hold or cancelled but the TV side is plugging on for now. It’s mostly due to crew size. Feature films average between 250-500 crew whereas TV crews tend to be 60-100 max. Quite a few TV commercials planned to film abroad are now coming to the UK which is some good news.

Quite a few minimal crews are planning to go ahead with filming locally in the next few weeks with filming on streets or outdoor spaces. Most of them are crews of up to five people so very little impact on anyone. This tends to be factual tv programmes. Saying that we are bracing ourselves for cancellations especially if the Government introduces a ‘lockdown’ phase. So I’ve been asked to extend my contract in the film office during April to cover the extra admin, not masses of work but some. A small mercy so maybe I will be able to pay bills next month after all.

A surprise in the post this evening... I’m due a PPI pay out! Woo hoo. Not mind shattering but extra cash to come in a month or so is a welcome well-timed surprise.

So this weekend I am going to try and find time for some of my favourite things... read a book, take a walk, knit, write a letter and maybe even some furniture painting!

Stay safe and be kind out there. Happy weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.